“What I hear, I forget. What I see, I remember. What I do, I understand”.

The more I read about energy awareness, the more I understand that people lack a mental model to understand energy. From the day we are born, we consider energy as something inexhaustible that should be there…We never question how do we get energy, in what cost (impact etc.), and how much we consume…

The reason that we lack this understanding, is that we never experimented as consumers with energy. Experimenting, through Feedback and Reflection can change our mental model and thus our behavior. Like the ancient, Chinese philosopher Lao Tse once said:

“What I hear, I forget. What I see, I remember. What I do, I understand”.

Hence, I think that co-design, has a key role to play in my project. Energy awareness is a social learning process, that requires active participation and creativity from the people to develop their own ways of conserving energy. Gaver states “By impelling people to interpret situations for themselves it encourages them to start grappling with systems and their contexts and thus to establish deeper and more personal relations with the the meanings offered by those systems.

So, lets co-design?

Leave a Reply

